Karin Lowachee’s Cagebird on final ballot for Philip K. Dick Award

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

For Immediate Release

2005 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced

The judges of the 2005 Philip K. Dick Award and the Philadelphia SF Society are pleased to announce six nominated works that comprise the final ballot for the award:

COWL by Neal Asher (Tor Books)

WAR SURF by M. M. Buckner (Ace Books)

CAGEBIRD by Karin Lowachee (Warner Aspect)

NATURAL HISTORY by Justina Robson (Bantam Spectra)

SILVER SCREEN by Justina Robson (Pyr Books)

TO CRUSH THE MOON by Wil McCarthy (Bantam Spectra)

First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 14, 2006 at Norwescon 29 at the Doubletree Seattle Airport Hotel, SeaTac, Washington.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. Last year’s winner was LIFE by Gwyneth Jones (Aqueduct Press) with a special citation to APOCALYPSE ARRAY by Lyda Morehouse (Roc). The 2005 judges are Charles Coleman Finlay, Kay Kenyon, Robert Metzger, Lyda Morehouse, and Graham Murphy (chair).